Official Vermont election results released

first_imgVermont Secretary of State Deb Markowitz released the official 2010 election results today. In statewide races, state Senator Peter Shumlin was elected governor, state Senator Phil Scott was elected lieutenant governor, and state Senator Jim Condos was elected secretary of state.  Because neither Shumlin nor Scott received 50 percent of the vote, the Legislature must vote to confirm their elections. This is a formality since their opponents have already conceded.Also, US Senator Patrick Leahy, US Representative Peter Welch, Attorney General William Sorrell, Treasurer Jeb Spaulding and Auditor of Accounts Tom Salmon were all re-elected. Spaulding led all vote getters with 204,048 votes or 90 percent of the vote. A total of 243,617 votes were cast, or 54 percent of registered voters. In the 2008 general election, 72 percent of those registered voted.Meanwhile, in the state House and Senate, the Democrats will hold on to their significant majorities, despite recounts in several House races.In addition to the individual races, voters approved a constitutional amendment that if ratified would allow individuals to vote in the primary who would be 18 by the time of the general election.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *